'Have you ever played tennis?' American CoCo Vandeweghe has heated exchange with umpire at Wimbledon

Posted at 1:34 PM, Jul 11, 2017
and last updated 2017-07-11 16:34:59-04

American CoCo Vandeweghe argued with chair umpire Kelly Thomson on Tuesday about whether a point in her Wimbledon quarterfinal loss should have been replayed because a line judge's call was distracting.

On the point, one line called a shot by Magdalena Rybarikova out. Vandeweghe's subsequent shot hit the net, and Rybarikova was awarded the point. Vandeweghe believed the point should have been replayed, but Thomson disagreed.

The 25-year-old Vandeweghe told Thomson her explanation was "baloney" and said, "It is a distraction on the play. Have you ever played tennis?" before adding, "How are you that wrong?"

Two points after the exchange, the match was over, and Vandeweghe was eliminated from the tournament.

In her news conference following her 6-3, 6-3 loss to Magdalena Rybarikova, Vandeweghe said: "If someone yells out in the middle of a swing, that's a hindrance call, and usually you replay the point."