Drought assistance loans available in 3 counties

Posted at 5:05 AM, Mar 04, 2016
and last updated 2016-03-04 07:05:22-05

Farmers and ranchers in three western Arizona counties may apply for emergency loans to cope with drought conditions.

The Arizona Department of Agriculture says the federal government on Wednesday added more California counties to those previously declared natural disaster areas. That means La Paz, Mohave and Yuma counties now qualify because they share borders with the primary declaration areas.

Arizona Agriculture Director Mark Killian says the federal low-interest loans can help ranchers and farmers keep their businesses afloat during tough economic times resulting from crops ruined due to lack of rain.

The state agency says details on the available loan types and information on how to apply are on the Farm Service Administration's website