NewsArizona News


5 Arizona congressmen win their bids for re-election

Posted at 9:12 PM, Nov 06, 2018
and last updated 2018-11-07 09:17:13-05

Two Democrats and three Republicans easily won their re-election bids to the House of Representatives in Arizona.

Democrat Raul Grijalva was elected to a ninth term in the House, defeating Republican Nick Person in Arizona's 3rd Congressional District. As of 9 p.m. Arizona time, Grijalva had over 60 percent of about 95,000 votes counted. Also, Democrat Ruben Gallego cruised to victory with no GOP challenger in the 7th District.

Republican Andy Biggs defeated Democrat Joan Green in Arizona's 5th District; he had about 60 percent of the vote with over 150,000 votes counted. Fellow Republican David Schweikert beat Democrat Anita Malik to earn a fifth term in Arizona's 6th District, capturing over 56 percent of the vote with over 150,000 votes cast. And Republican Paul Gosar, whose family members campaigned against him, defeated Democrat David Brill in AZ's 4th District.