NewsCentral & Southern Arizona NewsTucson News


Ann Kirkpatrick wins contentious race for Arizona CD2 over Marquez Peterson

Posted: 9:27 PM, Nov 06, 2018
Updated: 2018-11-07 01:58:05-05

Democrat Ann Kirkpatrick has defeated Republican Lea Marquez Peterson in the general election to represent Arizona's 2nd Congressional District.

The 2nd District , which includes Cochise County and part of Pima County, including most of the city of Tucson, was previously represented by U.S. Senate candidate Martha McSally.

Kirkpatrick represented the 1st Congressional District of Arizona from 2013-2017.

She will fill one of 435 seats in the U.S. House of Representatives.

This election was identified by  as a 2018 battleground race.