ASU beats UA for 4th straight Territorial Cup Series championship

Posted at 6:44 PM, May 14, 2017
and last updated 2017-05-15 09:46:48-04

The Territorial Cup is in Tucson, but the Territorial Cup Series trophy is staying in Tempe.

The Arizona State Sun Devils clinched the trophy once again by performing better than the Arizona Wildcats at the Pac-12 Track & Field Championships in Oregon this weekend. ASU's men and women both earned higher overall team scores than UA's, good enough for two Territorial Cup Series points.

Those two points broke a deadlock between the schools, giving ASU its fourth straight Territorial Cup Series victory, after UA won the trophy in each of its first four seasons.

Created before the 2009-10 sports season, the Territorial Cup Series trophy is awarded to the school that takes the most victories in head-to-head NCAA matchups between the two schools each season. A total of 20 NCAA sports decide the winner, and one point is awarded for the champion in each head-to-head matchup.

Click here for a complete breakdown of this season's results.

The competition was sponsored by State Farm through the 2011-12 season, but it has remained sponsor-less since then.

There's still one more Territorial Cup Series point up for grabs this season, as the winner of the three-game baseball series between ASU and UA beginning Thursday in Tempe will grab the final point. Tickets for those games can be purchased here.