3 ex-Sun Devils make College Hall of Fame ballot

Posted at 10:37 AM, Jun 01, 2016
and last updated 2016-06-01 14:02:10-04

A trio of former Arizona State Sun Devil greats, including the quarterback who led ASU to its most recent Rose Bowl appearance, are among the 75 names on the 2017 College Football Hall of Fame ballot for the Football Bowl Subdivision, which was announced Wednesday.

Ex-ASU quarterback Jake Plummer made his first appearance on the ballot. Plummer led the Sun Devils to an undefeated regular season in 1996 and came just short of a Rose Bowl victory in a hard-fought game against Ohio State. He was a Heisman Trophy finalist and Pac-10 Player of the Year in '96.

Also on the 2017 ballot is former ASU safety David Fulcher, a First-Team All-American in 1984-85 and a three-time All-Pac-10 selection. Fulcher racked up 286 tackles and 14 interceptions during his time in Tempe.

Former ASU coach Darryl Rogers is one of six coaches on the ballot. Rogers led ASU to a 37-18-1 record from 1980-84, including a Fiesta Bowl victory in 1982. 

Also on the ballot are quarterbacks Peyton Manning, Kerry Collins and Matt Leinart, along with running backs Marshall Faulk and Eric Dickerson.

Click here for a complete list of names on the 2017 ballot.