NewsArizona News

Actions

State-wide distracted driving ban is one step closer to becoming law

Posted at 5:37 PM, Apr 09, 2019
and last updated 2019-04-09 21:19:41-04

PHOENIX — A state-wide distracted driving ban is one step closer to becoming law. House Bill 2318 is heading to the Senate floor. If it passes, it will then go to the governor's desk.

Here's what you can and can't do under HB2318:

You can:

  • Talk on the phone while on speaker phone, using a hands free device
  • Have headphones or an earpiece in to talk on the phone
  • Press a button to start or end a call
  • Use a hands free GPS
  • Pick up your phone, if reporting an emergency or calling 911

You can't:

  • Write, send or read text messages or emails
  • Use the internet on your phone
  • Talk on the phone while holding it

Under HB2318, you could be fined up to $149 for the first violation and up to $250 if you're caught a second time.

Arizona is one of three states without a ban on texting and driving.

A handful of cities throughout the Valley have their own rules of the road on the books. HB2318 bans texting and driving across the board.