Lottery decides order of candidates on ballot

Posted at 11:57 AM, Dec 15, 2015
and last updated 2015-12-15 13:57:22-05

Arizona Secretary of State Michele Reagan has called in the head of the state Lottery to help decide the ballot order for candidates in the state's presidential primary election.

Reagan and Lottery Director Tony Bouie used a machine that randomly selects ping pong balls representing the candidates Tuesday morning at the state Capitol.

Fourteen Republicans will be on the March 22 ballot, including front-runner Donald Trump, Sens. Ted Cruz and Marco Rubio, retired neurosurgeon Ben Carson, former Govs. Mike Huckabee and Jeb Bush and current Govs. Chris Christie and John Kasich. Rand Paul, Rick Santorum, Carly Fiorina, Lindsey Graham, George Pataki and political unknown Tim Cook round out the GOP field.

Democrats include former Secretary of State Hillary Clinton, Vermont Sen. Bernie Sanders and former Maryland Gov. Martin O'Malley.