Down to the wire: 2016-17 Territorial Cup Series tied with 3 sports left

Posted at 6:02 PM, May 01, 2017
and last updated 2017-05-14 21:31:43-04

The Territorial Cup has resided in Tucson since the Arizona Wildcats' convincing win over the Arizona State Sun Devils in late November -- but the Territorial Cup Series trophy, which ASU has won each of the last four seasons, remains up for grabs in what's shaping up to be a photo finish.

Created before the 2009-10 sports season, the Territorial Cup Series trophy is awarded to the school that takes the most victories in head-to-head NCAA matchups between the two schools each season. A total of 20 NCAA sports decide the winner, and one point is awarded for the champion in each head-to-head matchup. 

Click here for a complete breakdown of this season's results.

For example, Arizona won a Territorial Cup series point for beating ASU in football in November, but ASU won a point for downing UA in men's golf last weekend. The two schools took a half-point each for splitting their two matchups in women's basketball and women's volleyball.

As of May 1, this year's series is tied, 8.5-8.5. This year's title will be decided by the three sports remaining to be played during the 2016-17 NCAA calendar:

1. Baseball. Arizona beat ASU in their one and only meeting this season, but the two teams will play each other four more times: in Tucson on May 9 and in Tempe on May 18, 19 and 20. UA will get the point if it splits its remaining games with the Sun Devils.

2. Men's outdoor track & field. The winner will be determined based on which team finishes higher at the Pac-12 Track & Field Championships in mid-May.

3. Women's outdoor track & field. Same parameters as the men's event.

If the series ends in a tie, the winner will be decided by the team that finishes higher in the season's Directors' Cup standings -- a tiebreaker that UA would win.

Arizona won the Territorial Cup Series trophy in each of its first four seasons in existence, but ASU has won the last three, meaning a Sun Devil win this year would even the all-time series at four victories apiece.

The competition was sponsored by State Farm through the 2011-12 season, but it has remained sponsor-less since then.