Jake Plummer, Dennis Erickson named to College Football Hall of Fame

Plummer led ASU to the 1997 Rose Bowl game
KNXV Jake Plummer ASU
Posted at 11:33 AM, Jan 07, 2019
and last updated 2019-01-07 13:44:57-05

Former Arizona State Sun Devils quarterback Jake Plummer and former ASU head coach Dennis Erickson were selected for induction into the College Football Hall of Fame on Monday.

Plummer was a four-year starting quarterback at ASU from 1993-96. He guided the Sun Devils to the 1996 Pac-10 title and their second (and most recent) Rose Bowl appearance in his senior season. He was drafted by the Arizona Cardinals and went on to lead the Cardinals to their first playoff appearance in Arizona.

Erickson was ASU's head coach from 2007-11. He posted a 31-31 overall record with the Sun Devils and guided ASU to a 10-win season in 2007. He led the Miami Hurricanes to two national championships, in 1989 and '91.

The other inductees announced Monday are: Texas quarterback Vince Young, Notre Dame running back Raghib Ismail, Arkansas running back Darren McFadden, Oklahoma defensive back Rickey Dixon, John Carroll linebacker London Fletcher, Texas A&M defensive lineman Jacob Green, North Carolina State receiver Torry Holt, USC defensive back Troy Polamalu, Wisconsin offensive tackle Joe Thomas, Michigan State running back Lorenzo White and Mississippi linebacker Patrick Willis.

The new inductees will be enshrined at the National Football Foundation's award banquet in December.