PHOENIX — Arizona drivers who have ignored a 2019 law that bans holding a cellphone behind the wheel be warned: Breaking the law is going to cost you starting Friday.
That's when police statewide can stop drivers and issue tickets that come with fines between $75 and $149 for a first offense, plus other fees.
A second or subsequent offense is even more pricey, with fines of $150 to $250. Arizona was one of the last states in the nation without a cellphone ban until lawmakers were able to pass it after years of trying.
The ban took effect in April 2019, but a provision barred any fines until Jan. 1, 2021.