Arizona, Montana, New Jersey and South Dakota approve recreational marijuana

Posted at 8:25 PM, Nov 03, 2020

Four states have approved legalizing marijuana. The measures are projected to pass in Arizona, Montana New Jersey and South Dakota.

In Arizona and New Jersey measures would make recreational use of marijuana legal for people 21 and older.

The Arizona measure also allows people convicted of certain marijuana crimes to seek expungement of their records.

Lawmakers in New Jerseywere unable to pass legislation about marijuana and eventually put it on the ballot for voters to decide.

Marijuana is still illegal on the national level, however 11 states and the District of Columbia have already legalized it and sell it without interference from the federal government.