Teen drivers are four times more likely to be involved in a car accident and 50 percent more likely during their first month on the road.
In the state of Arizona, teens are not required to complete driver's education to obtain their licenses. Instead, the state returns the responsibility to the parents to ensure that their teens are ready for the road.
The number of fatalities and serious injuries that can be attributed to teen driving are on the rise, making an Arizona car accident attorney a must if you've been involved in an accident with a teen driver.
The importance of the parents of teen drivers
Under state law, an Arizona teen younger than 18 can't obtain a driver's license without the signature of a parent or legal guardian. This means that those parents acknowledge their responsibility for the conduct of their teen driver. You take on this responsibility for your own teens, if any.
Parent responsibility doesn't end with teaching the rules of the road; they must inform their child about the risks of:
? Driving under the influence
? Texting while driving
? Talking on the phone while driving, even with hands-free
? Reckless driving
? Not paying attention when pulling out /changing lanes
? Distracted driving (loud passengers, radio, pets, wandering thoughts)
? Driving while sleepy
Teens who haven't directly experienced the consequences of certain risky behaviors may not realize that the odds aren't in their favor. And that, if they're careless, car accidents will likely follow.
A car accident won't only impact them. It may impact passengers, property or another driver. The impact of these car accident injuries can be severe.
Parents assume the responsibility of not only informing their teen, but also reinforcing the importance of safe driving with consequences (i.e, loss of driving privileges) when teens engage in risky behaviors.
Parents must also ensure that they're properly insured at a rate of no less than $100 thousand per person and $300 thousand per accident.
Parent liability in Arizona
By signing for the teen to receive a driver's license, this adult takes full legal responsibility for any:
? Property damage
? Injuries to their passengers
? Injuries to the other driver and his/her passengers
In the event of a car accident in which an underage teen is "at fault", the parents will be liable for any repairs, medical bills, compensation, pain and suffering, etc. that insurance doesn't pay. If your teen has been involved in a car accident, you may be liable.
When to hire an Arizona car accident attorney
If you've been involved in a car accident with a minor, it's important that you understand your rights. The responsibility for the accident extends beyond the teen driver and falls upon the parents who have assumed this responsibility by permitting their teen to drive.
You may have suffered property damage, medical injuries as well as the emotional, psychological, employment and relationship impacts of a serious accident.
If you've been in an accident, you need an Arizona car accident attorney. Call Lerner and Rowe Injury Attorneys today toll-free phone number (844) 977-1900 or locally at (602) 977-1900. Their Phoenix personal injury law firm is open from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m., but is available 24/7 to assist you. Consultations are always free. And if you don't win, you don't pay.