NHL league realignment affects Coyotes

PHOENIX, AZ - The NHL is rolling out a new league alignment, placing Detroit in the Eastern Conference for the first time in years, and moving Dallas to the Central Division of the Western Conference.

Each conference is now made up of just two divisions instead of three and every team will now play each other at least twice (home and away). That means Western Conference fans will have a chance to see every Eastern Conference team at their home rink and vice versa.

The moves leave the Coyotes in a very tough Pacific Division of the Western Conference with the following teams: Edmonton, Anaheim, Calgary, Los Angeles, San Jose and Vancouver.

The play-offs will include the top three finishers in each of the four divisions plus two wild card teams from each conference, regardless of division. The wild card teams will be the teams with the two best records after the top three in each division. While the Western Conference has 14 teams, the Eastern Conference will have 16 teams.

The alignment breaks out like this:

Western Conference:

Pacific Division:

Phoenix Coyotes

Edmonton Oilers

Anaheim Ducks

Calgary Flames

Los Angeles Kings

San Jose Sharks

Vancouver Canucks

Central Division:

Colorado Avalanche

Chicago Blackhawks

Winnipeg Jets

Dallas Stars

Minnesota Wild

Nashville Predators

St. Louis Blues


Eastern Conference:

Atlantic Division:

Toronto Maple Leafs

Detroit Red Wings

Montreal Canadiens

Buffalo Sabres

Boston Bruins

Florida Panthers

Ottawa Senators

Tampa Bay Lightning

Metropolitan Division:

Washington Capitals

Philadelphia Flyers

Carolina Hurricanes

Columbus Blue Jackets

New Jersey Devils

New York Islanders

New York Rangers

Pittsburgh Penguins


Print this article Back to Top