ABC15 honored by NATAS with 2013 'Station Excellence' Emmy Award

PHOENIX - ABC15 in Phoenix was honored with the 2013 Station Excellence Emmy Award from the Rocky Mountain Southwest Chapter of the National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences over the weekend.

The Station Excellence Award is the Academy's highest honor of the year awarded to the station that has displayed consistent excellence in news coverage and support for the community.

ABC15 vice-president and general manager Anita Helt accepted the 2013 Station Excellence Award on behalf of the station and the ABC15 staff.

"I am so proud of the ABC15 team," said Helt. "They take action every day to give Arizona the quality journalism it deserves. We are honored to be part of the community fabric and pledge to continue working to make Arizona a better place to live."

In addition to being honored with the Station Excellence Award, ABC15 received awards in the key television news categories of Best Morning and Evening Newscasts, swept the weather categories and received multiple awards for the ABC15 Investigators.

ABC15 received top honors for:

Station Excellence - ABC15

Newscast – Daytime or Evening ABC15 News at 10 p.m., Alison Green, Producer

Katie Raml & Steve Irvin, Anchors

Newscast – Morning ABC15 Mornings, Luke Garrison, Producer

Connie Colla & Dan Spindle, Anchors

Weather – News Weathercaster, ABC15 Chief Meteorologist Amber Sullins

Weather – News Single Story ABC15 Reporter Trapped in Dust Storm Nightmare, Steve Kuzj, Reporter

Weather – On-Camera Talent – Anchor, ABC15 Chief Meteorologist Amber Sullins

The ABC15 Investigators were recognized for 14 Emmys:

Politics/Government-News Series Insanely Insecure: Escapes from the Arizona State Mental Hospital

Dave Biscobing, Mark LaMet, Gerald Watson

Military – News Single Story/Series/Feature PTSD: A Military Suicide Epidemic

Lori Jane Gliha, Gerald Watson

Continuing Coverage Why a Mother Didn't Have to Die: The Truth, Trial & Cover-up in Arpaio's Jail

Dave Biscobing, Mark LaMet

Investigative Report Ford Escape: Exposing a Deadly Defect

Joe Ducey, Gerard Watson, Lauren Gilger, Maria Tomasch

Specialty Assignment Report – News Single Story, Consumer Nightmares Series or Feature
Joe Ducey, Maria Tomasch

Journalistic Enterprise
Dave Biscobing

ABC15 and Scripps were also honored with:

Promotions News Promo – Single spot ABC15 - Meet Dan
Sean Sinerius

Promotion News Promo – Single spot/Same day ABC15 - Investigators: Mexico Custody
Noelle Kearns

Promotion Program – Single Spot or Campaign ABC15 - The List
Jose Ochoa

Arts/Entertainment-Program Feature-Segment Scripps/Teen Designer: Alexander Sanchez

Jodie Heisner, Mark Oltz

Magazine Program – Feature/Segment Scripps/The List/Steampunk

Jodie Heisner, Mark Oltz, Brien McElhatten

Magazine Program – Program/Special Scripps/The List

Dave Erickson, Abbie Smith, Rick Joyce


For media inquiries, contact:

Suzanna Stanton
Community Manager

Print this article Back to Top