NASCAR Sprint Cup Advocare 500 begins today at Phoenix International Raceway

AVONDALE, AZ - With just two races to go in the Sprint Cup Chase for the Championship, Sunday's Advocare 500 comes down to just two drivers competing for the 2012 title: Jimmie Johnson and Brad Keselowski.

The two drivers are separated by just seven points, and although Johnson has the inside track on winning a sixth championship, don't expect Keselowski and his team to go down without a fight!

"My goal is to go to the next two races and win," Keselowski said. "We control our own destiny if we do that."

"I expect for Brad to be strong here," Johnson said. "He and I raced real hard for third or four positions in the closing laps of the spring race. I would assume that we would be right there running nose to tail once again when the checkered flag falls on Sunday."

By winning the last two races, Johnson has taken the points lead back from Keselowski.

Last Spring in Phoenix, both Johnson and Keselowski finished fourth and fifth respectively and both feel as though they can win here at PIR.

Sunday's race at PIR is the ninth of the ten Chase for the Championship Cup races, and is race number 35 of 36 for the 2012 NASCAR Sprint Cup season.

News and Notes about the Advocare 500 at PIR:

There have been 32 Sprint Cup Series races at Phoenix International Raceway, one per season from 1988-2004 and two each season since.

Of the 23 different race winners at PIR, Jimmie Johnson leads the pack with four wins: (Fall of 2007, a sweep in 2008, and Fall of 2009).

Of the five drivers to win consecutive races at PIR, Jimmie Johnson is the only one to win three consecutive races (fall 2007, swept 2008).

Where: Phoenix International Raceway, Avondale, AZ

When: Sunday, April 22, 1:00 p.m.


Starting Order;

  1. Kyle Busch
  2. Martin Truex, Jr
  3. Denny Hamlin
  4. Kasey Kahne
  5. Aric Almirola
  6. Kurt Busch
  7. Paul Menard
  8. Regan Smith
  9. Tony Stewart
  10. Mark Martin
  11. Jeff Gordon
  12. Ryan Newman
  13. Carl Edwards
  14. Brad Keseloski
  15. Joey Logano
  16. Clint Bowyer
  17. Marcos Ambrose
  18. Kevin Harvick
  19. Greg Biffle
Print this article Back to Top