Russia bans entry to US lawmakers, officials

Russia on Thursday imposed entry bans on nine U.S. lawmakers and officials in response to Washington's sanctions over Crimea, the first retaliatory strike by Moscow.

The Russian Foreign Ministry on Thursday released the list that includes House Speaker House Speaker John Boehner, R-Ohio and Sen. Bob Menendez, D-N.J., the chairman of the Foreign Relations Committee.

It also names Ben Rhodes, a deputy U.S. national security adviser along with other White House advisers, Caroline Atkinson and Dan Pfeiffer, along with Senate Majority Leader Harry Reid, D-Nev. and Senators John McCain, R-Ariz.,  Mary Landrieu, D-La. and Dan Coats, R-Ind.

The Russian Foreign Ministry misspelled Reid's name as Reed.

In response to the ban, McCain said, "I guess this means my spring break in Siberia is off, my Gazprom stock is lost, and my secret bank account in Moscow is frozen."

The move came minutes after President Barack Obama introduced a new round of U.S. sanctions, including some senior Kremlin officials and lawmakers along with businessmen close to President Vladimir Putin.

"There should be no doubt, we will respond in kind to any hostile action," the Foreign Ministry said. "We have warned repeatedly that the use of sanctions is a double-edged sword that will boomerang against the United States."

Print this article Back to Top